Paperless Genealogy with OneNote

I am loving Microsoft OneNote for going paperless in my genealogy!

I have input 5 two-inch binders into my OneNote and cleared off a big portion of my desk. Now I am putting copies of the certificates, notes, pictures etc into the families notebooks. This means when I open a “Family” notebook and go to a person’s page, I see all the information I have for that person. I see a picture of the certificate, not just words. I can look and relook at the information I have.

As I stated yesterday, I have been inputting the Minnesota death certificates I have and I am almost done with that! I have 7 left. I am learning to transcribe the information from each document into my genealogy database program and into OneNote. This is helping me create a timeline of their lives. I am quite surprised at all the information I was not reading before I started doing this. It forces me to look at all the details, and sheds a whole new light on each document.

If you do not transcribe your documents into writing and record it somewhere I definately recommend that you do that…

Well, off to finish my last 7 Minnesota death certificates. Learning new things everyday…

2 thoughts on “Paperless Genealogy with OneNote

  1. This sounds great – I’m certainly going to take a look at OneNote! I’ve been spending the past few weeks getting my family history paperwork in better order – doing a little bit every day. Thanks for the tip :)

    • You are very welcome! This is time consuming when you first get started, but I have found it to be well worth all the extra space on my desk and having everything available on my iPhone and iPad. Thank you for your comment. :)

Leave a Reply

